IELTS: Introduction

IELTS (International English Language Testing System) is a widely recognized test for English language for testing the skills of the non-native speakers of English. IELTS is conducted by British Council. Most of the North American Universities require a respective score in either IELTS or TOEFL to get admitted and get a scholarship. IELTS is also necessary to get admission in Australia, UK and other European countries. Migration to Australia, Canada, UK and other countries require IELTS too.  IELTS is of two types:

  • Academic
  • General Training

Academic IELTS is for scholarship and admission purposes and professional registration. On the other hand, General Training is for the migration purpose and for migrating to Canada, UK, Australia and New Zealand IELTS is mandatory. Here mainly Academic IELTS will be focused.

IELTS exam is divided into 4 modules. The following four skills are tested:

  • Listening – 40 minutes
  • Reading – 1 hour
  • Writing – 1 hour
  • Speaking – 12 to 14 minutes

The whole test takes almost 3 hours. Generally, the speaking exam is taken in a separate day.

The details of the modules and the preparation will be discussed in the following tutorials.